Research Areas

Undergraduates get unprecedented support to conduct research in a wide range of fields including fabrication two-dimensional (2D) materials and their electronic devices,material genomics, applied photonics and optical communications, piezoelectricity and ferroelectricity, high-k dielectrics, thermoelectric devices, molecular electronics, photovoltaic devices and energy applications. The Department of Physics encourages research in experimental and .computational physics as well as future-oriented topics like renewable energies and supercapacitors.

Research areas explored under Advanced Materials and Device Physics

Advanced Materials and Device Physics

Group Members

  • Dr Sabyasachi Mukhopadhyay
  • Dr Pranab Mandal
  • Dr Jatis Kumar Dash
  • Dr L N Patro
  • Dr Mallikarjuna Rao
  • Dr Siddhartha Ghosh
  • Interfacial Interaction at solid/liquid phase boundary to develop smart surfaces
  • Fabrication of 2D Materials for Energy and Electronic Applications
  • Synthesis of 2D Piezoelectric Materials for nanogenerators
  • Charge transport through various Thin films
  • Electron Transport across Multi-dimensional Molecular Junctions
  • Development of solid electrolytes for all-solid-state Na and F-ion batteries
  • CO2 reduction into useful fuels via photocatalytic process

 *Pilot scale production of ethylene using gas diffusion electrodes

Research areas explored under Laser Physics and Photonix

Laser Physics and Photonics

  • Interfacial Interaction at solid/liquid phase boundary to develop smart surfaces
  • Digital Holography
  • Computational optical imaging

Group Members

  • Dr Gangireddy Salla
  • Dr Ravi Kumar

Research areas explored under High Energy Physics

High Energy Physics

Group Members

  • Dr Amit Chakraborty
  • Dr Johannes Krischer
  • Dr Ashmita Das
  • Theoretical Particle Physics, Beyond the Standard Model
  • Higgs boson Physics, Dark Matter Phenomenology
  • Effective (field) theories for a connection between particle-, nuclear-, and atomic physics
  • Semiclassical Gravity Theory and its implications in black hole Physics, Cosmology, etc.
  • Unruh-Fulling effect and its applications via the Unruh-deWitt detector method in flat and curved spacetime
  • Machine Learning applications

Research areas explored under Computational Materials and Soft Matter Physics

Computational Materials and Soft Matter Physics

  • Theory of Catalysis: Quantum mechanics and Machine Learning
  • Statistical physics of fracture of disordered materials; Complex systems: socio & econophysics
  • Soft matter and biophysics, rare event sampling
  • Topological quantum materials, transport/ optical properties of 2D materials

Group Members

  • Prof. Ranjit Thapa
  • Dr Soumyajyoti Biswas
  • Dr Supravat Dey
  • Dr Pankaj Bhalla
  • Dr Debabrata Pramanik
  • Dr Anita Haldar