Departmental Leadership

  • Dean - SEAS: Prof. Ranjit Thapa
  • Head of the Department: Dr Pranab Mandal

Board of Studies

  • Prof. M S Ramachandra Rao, Professor, Department of Physics, Indian Institute of Technology Madras
  • Prof. D Narayana Rao, Raja Ramanna Fellow, University of Hyderabad

Faculty In-charge


Faculty in-charge

MSc Physics Coordinators

Dr Soumyajyoti Biswas, Dr Siddhartha Ghosh, and Dr Pankaj Bhalla

Placement Coordinator

Dr Ravi Kumar

BSc Physics (Hons) Coordinators

Dr Laxmi Narayana Patro, Dr Jatis Kumar Dash, and Dr Debabrata Pramanik

Distribution of Marks Coordinator

Dr Pankaj Bhalla

Department Exam Coordinator

Dr Gangi Reddy Salla

Department ERP Coordinator

Dr Debabrata Pramanik

Admission Coordinator

Dr Sabyasachi Mukhopadhyay and Dr Debabrata Pramanik

Time table Coordinator

Dr Supravat Dey

Physics Teaching Lab in-charge

Dr Sabyasachi Mukhopadhyay

Course and assessment file Coordinator

Dr Siddhartha Ghosh

Course allotment

Dr Pranab Mandal

Department website in-charge

Dr Soumyajyoti Biswas

Research purchase, procurement and record

Dr Pranab Mandal

PhD Coursework in-charge

Dr Pranab Mandal

Internship, Project for BSc and MSc student’s In-Charge

Dr Jatis Kumar Dash and Dr Johannes Kirscher

Faculty shortlisting/screening committee

Dr Soumyajyoti Biswas, Dr Gangi Reddy Salla, and Dr Pranab Mandal

BOS Committee

Dr Siddhartha Ghosh, Dr Gangi Reddy Salla, Dr Sabyasachi Mukhopadhyay, Dr Laxmi Narayana Patro, and Dr Johannes Kirscher

MHRD IIC Coordinator (Sciences)

Dr Jatis Kumar Dash

Outreach coordinator (Workshops/visits/Guest talk at school)

Dr Ravi Kumar, Dr Gangi Reddy Salla, and Dr Mallikarjuna Rao Motapothula

Outreach coordinator (Eminent Lecture/Guest Lecture/Symposium)

Dr Amit Chakraborty

Department Research Seminar coordinator

Dr Amit Chakraborty

PhD entrance Coordinator

Dr Supravat Dey, Dr Laxmi Narayana Patro, and Dr Soumyajyoti Biswas

BSc Physics Project Coordinator

Dr Soumyajyoti Biswas

Course Code Coordinator

Dr Debabrata Pramanik

Allied, Minor Course and Open Elective Coordinator

Dr Pankaj Bhalla and Dr Debabrata Pramanik

PHY101 Lab (2022-23) Coordinator

Dr Ravi Kumar

PHY101 (2022-23) Coordinator

Dr Siddhartha Ghosh

Physics Curriculum Coordinator

Dr Pankaj Bhalla, Dr Debabrata Pramanik, and Dr Sabyasachi Mukhopadhyay

Research Day Chairman: Physical Sciences (University)

Dr Debabrata Pramanik

University Publication Record

Dr Pankaj Bhalla