Currently the Department of Physics at SRM University-AP offers the Bachelor of Science B.Sc. Physics (Hons.), MSc in Physics, and PhD graduate programmes in physics. The BSc Physics major programme gives the students a solid foundation of concept and problem-solving ability with which they are able to solve real-world problems by modelling them and designing them with the application of new experimental techniques. Master’s in physics at SRM University-AP requires two years of full-time study, which amounts to 80 credits with a span of 4 semesters programme.

The main objective of MSc Physics at SRM University-AP is to develop expertise in Quantum Technology by learning courses such as Quantum Mechanics, Quantum Computation, Quantum Communications and/or to develop expertise in Device physics by learning courses such as Condensed Matter Physics, Instrumentation & Experimental Analysis, Electronics Circuit, Spintronics. The Department encourages research opportunities for undergraduate, master students, as well as graduate students in several areas of experimental and computational/theoretical physics.

The Department's faculty members are engaged in cutting-edge research problems. The faculty members, PhD students, and undergraduate students have published more than 114 research articles in the journals recognized by Web of Science, with an average impact factor 5.7. The faculty members have published 03 patents. One more patent has been filed and 12 govt. funded projects (DST, SERB-DST, BRNS, UGC-DAE, NSM) are on-going with a total outlay of > 4.35 Crores. One industry group project is ongoing with Amara Raja Ltd. total outlay of 180 Lakhs, in which one of our faculty members is involved in the six-member group.